HSR Initial OHS Training Course

Health, safety and wellbeing
This WorkSafe-approved course for Health and Safety Representatives will give you the knowledge and practical skills to deal effectively with OHS issues.

To exercise your powers and rights as a Health and Safety Representative (HSR) effectively, it is essential that you receive training. This WorkSafe-approved course gives you the skills, knowledge and confidence to represent your designated work group and to help make their workplace safer.

Duration

Five days

Learning outcomes

During this program you will increase your knowledge of:

  • The occupational health and safety legislative framework and its relationship to the HSR
  • The legislative obligations and duties of employers and staff
  • Establishing representation in your workplace
  • Participation  in consultation and issue resolution
  • Representing designated work group members in any OHS risk management process undertaken by the appropriate duty holder/s
  • Issuing a Provisional Improvement Notice (PIN) and directing the cessation of work 

Participants

This course is suited to newly-elected HSRs and deputy HSRs.

Under section 67 of the Victorian OHS Act 2004 an employer, if requested, must allow an elected HSR and elected Deputy HSR to attend a WorkSafe-approved HSR initial OHS training course on paid time, pay the course fees and any other associated costs. Section 67 also allows HSRs to choose the approved course they attend in consultation with their employer.

Learning pathway

This program is part of the Health and Safety Representative pathway designed to give HSRs the skills, knowledge and confidence to represent their designated work group and to help make their workplace safer.

The pathway also includes HSR refresher OHS training course.

Worksafe

Melbourne 1 Mar 29 Mar
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Fri 01 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 08 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 15 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 22 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 29 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 5 Mar 13 Mar
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Tue 05 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 06 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 07 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 12 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 13 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 18 Mar 27 Mar
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Mon 18 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 19 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Mon 25 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 26 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 27 Mar 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 1 Apr 10 Apr
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Mon 01 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 02 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Mon 08 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 09 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 10 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
GEELONG 8 Apr 17 Apr
Venue

Rydges Geelong - Corner Myers & Gheringhap Streets

GEELONG VIC 3220

View Map
Session Timings

Mon 08 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 09 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Mon 15 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 16 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 17 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 11 Apr 16 May
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Thu 11 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 18 Apr 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 02 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 09 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 16 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 13 May 17 May
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Mon 13 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 14 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 15 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 16 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 17 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 20 May 29 May
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Mon 20 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 21 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Mon 27 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 28 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 29 May 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Wodonga 6 Jun 4 Jul
Venue

The Cube Wodonga, 118 Hovell Street

Wodonga VIC 3690

View Map
Session Timings

Thu 06 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 13 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 20 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 27 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 04 Jul 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 7 Jun 5 Jul
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Fri 07 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 14 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 21 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 28 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Fri 05 Jul 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
TRARALGON 17 Jun 26 Jun
Venue

Bridges On Argyle - 84 Argyle Street

TRARALGON VIC 3844

View Map
Session Timings

Mon 17 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 18 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Mon 24 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 25 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 26 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Melbourne 19 Jun 27 Jun
Venue

VCCI, Level 2, 150 Collins Street

Melbourne VIC 3000

View Map
Session Timings

Wed 19 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 20 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Tue 25 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Wed 26 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Thu 27 Jun 9:00am to 5:00pm

Ticket Type
Member
Non Member

Standard

$1,200.00 (no GST)

$1,450.00 (no GST)

Register
Contact us

For general enquires about training, enrolments and coaching, contact us by phone or online.

03 8662 5333

Online enquiries

Sign up for our Training newsletter

Get information on upcoming courses and training opportunities from the Victorian Chamber

(error)
(error)
(error)
Sign up
On-site Quote Request

This program can be customised to your needs and delivered on-site.

Request information